We have a KITCHEN!!!!

…and what a kitchen it is. Installation was moved from Tuesday morning at 7 am to Wednesday at noon, but at this point, I figured I could wait for a day and a half, or so.

January at my job is especially crazed, so it was difficult to not be close by when the cabinets were delivered. Poor Jason got texts about every hour demanding updates. “Do you like them? Do you love them? What do you think?” But those of who know Jason, understand that he is not really excitable…except when it comes to walking on newly finished floors, I guess. All I could glean out of him was, “They look nice.” REALLY??????

So, despite having a conference call at 6pm on Wednesday night, I raced home right at 5, so that I could see for myself what “nice” really looked like. The installers were still there, and were working hard. I walked into the kitchen from the new mudroom as gasped when I saw the new cabinets. After having dreams about mismatched 70’s cabinets slapped together (nightmares, I should say), I was elated to find that they looked better than I even thought they would. (I might have even shed a tear. šŸ™‚ ) I went back to the in-laws for my 6pm call, had some dinner, and then went back to take it all in a little more.

The island- awaiting the microwave drawer, sink and dishwasher, from left to right

Obviously, you can see the transformation of the space, which is pretty awesome in of itself. As often as I’ve tried to visualize the space throughout the project, it’s hard. It’s not so hard, now!

For now, the upper cabinet above the hood (which WAS delivered, as promised on Tuesday morning, by the way) is off the wall so we can get the hood installed. That has taken on a life of its own over this week. The position of the hood and range on the outside wall, doesn’t leave much of a distance for the duct run, which apparently is going to affect noise level for the 1200 cfm blower. As a result, we’re going with a 600 cfm blower…thankfully, it was available without an issue. Matt at Don’s Appliance made that happen for us, and we should have it by Tuesday. Our HVAC guy said that we overshot it a bit with the bigger blower. He installed a restaurant kitchen recently, and they didn’t have a hood that intense. Whoops.

Fridge wall- pantry cabinet

Pantry cabinet- other side

The guys from Best Builders are now back, working on the baseboard installation, some additional trim and a few more doors. They’re also the ones who will be doing our appliance install. They were able to get the vanity upstairs (whew.) without TOO much difficulty. All of the plumbing fixtures are also on the docket. The electricians are coming back Tuesday, for the outlets and switches, and I presume the lighting fixtures. After that, the painters will be back for a final coat, and the floor guys, for a final scuff and finish coat.

The counter template for the soapstone can happen once we get the sink in place, and probably after the hood is up. I’m not sure how long the fabrication will take…a few days, hopefully?

Island detail

All in all, a super exciting week for us.

Hardware detail- cabinet latches

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drawer bin pulls

About buffyfoster

I am mom to two great kids, Tess and Jack and wife of Jason. I work outside the home, as a clinical operations director for CIGNA Healthcare. We have been planning this addition since we bought the house from a family member in January, 2000.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment